The English Camp Trail starts from Mine Hill Trail
, about .4 miles from Quicksilver Park's Hacienda entrance. From its trailhead, the English Camp Trail climbs steadily to end at the historic site of English Camp and the Castillero Trail
. When the cinnabar (mercury ore) mines of Quicksilver Park were active during the late 19th and early 20th centuries, English Camp was a town of about 1000 people. It was populated by the Cornish miners and their families. Ruins of a few buildings remain at the site of English Camp.
The English Camp Trail climbs along a steep hillside for the first .9 miles. It is a relatively open trail here, with expansive views of the rugged hills in this part of Quicksilver Park. In the distance, the Santa Cruz Mountains can occasionally be seen. The trail drops off on the left to the Deep Gulch stream bed.
After .9 miles, the trail veers right, away from the Deep Gulch stream bed, and heads directly into the hills. It goes through a short wooded section, and then the vegetation thins as it approaches the historic site of English Camp. Ruins of an old English Camp building come into view in the distance. These ruins are next to a grassy area with picnic tables at the end of the English Camp Trail. This is the historic site of English Camp.
From the English Camp site, one can explore the short spur trails of Church Hill, the site of the English Camp church, ruins of an old mine office, and learn about the area from informative signs.
Wooded and brush covered hills. Deer.