Run down the Nuttallburg Loop for a glimpse into the past of one of the nation's most historic mining towns. Founded in 1870 by John Nuttall, Nuttallburg
was one of the first mining sites on the New River Gorge to produce "smokeless coal" - an altered version of coal produced through extensive heating in ovens and rapid cooling in the New River's icy waters.
While making your way down the trail, be sure to take the time to view the crumbling remains of the turn-of-the-century coke ovens, club house, residential community, and town post office. Lastly, venture over towards the iconic feat of engineering and the trail's namesake: the Nuttallburg Tipple and coal conveyor.
From the Keeneys Creek Rail Trail Parking Area, head north along the trail, climbing gently to the junction with the Town Loop Connector Trail
. Take the Town Loop Connector Trail
west to the junction with the Tipple Trail
. Run along the Tipple Trail
, taking in Nuttallburg's rich mining history.
From here, head west along the Seldom Seen Trail
for a quick out-and-back to the crumbling remains of building foundations that once supported the houses of Nuttallburg employees and their families. Continue north along the tipple trail, passing more historic remains before taking the trail's northern fork onto the Town Loop Trail
Follow the Town Loop Trail
for a glimpse into community life at Nuttallburg
during the turn of the century. Along the trail, note the collapsing foundations of what once were schools, churches, and family homes. If so inclined, take time to read the numerous trail-side displays explaining the activities of daily life in this mining hub when the town was at its peak.
After enjoying the Town Loop Trail
, head north along the Town Loop Connector Trail
until the junction with the Keeneys Creek Rail Trail
. Follow the Keeneys Creek Rail Trail
east from the junction, descending gently toward the parking area.