This Featured Run content
still in development or in editorial review.
Features: Birding — Fall Colors — Views
A fast trail, with very pleasant landscapes, with views to Penafiel, Lousada and Paredes, in Monte de Santiago de Ferreira.
History & Background
The origin of the church of the Monastery of San Pedro de Ferreira dates back to the 10th century, based on the reference made to it in the testament of Mumadona Dias, dated 959.
The existing temple begins to be constructed in 1182, being able to identify elements of a first Romanesque church that would have been constructed between end of century XI and beginnings of century XII.
The Monastery is part of the Order of Canons Regantes in the 13th century, between 1258 and 1293, which was extinguished in the fifteenth century when it ceased to belong to the canons and passed into the hands of the Bishop of Porto, including the area and adjacent properties.
This monument is a unique case in the Portuguese Romanesque, when it is preceded by a narthex surrounded by a wall, a steeple of two spans and two-sided cimalha. This structure would correspond to the funeral ancillary.