Yielding to Mountain Bikers

Tony T.
Denver, CO

Original Post

Well, in an effort to see who else is out there reading this forum, I'll post this!

I'm still pretty new to trail running (like 9 weeks new), but I have a lot of experiencing with trail use in general from mountaineering, climbing, etc., in Colorado for the past 7 years. I was looking for a nice and mellow trail to check out without the typical Flatirons up-then-down run since I'm nursing a little plantar fasciitis injury right now, and that stuff kills my PF and my Achilles' tendonitis. I decided to check out the section of CT off of Kenosha heading west yesterday, and it was really was pretty much what I was hoping for, especially with the added incentive of running at elevation to provide a different sort of challenge. Plus, no frickin' poison ivy dodging like in the Flatirons!

However, so.many.mountain.bikers. Being a former rider myself, of course I gave them the right-of-way as they were coming up hill because...damn...that's just mean not to even though I know foot or horse always have right of way. I think I made the same corny joke about wishing I had a cowbell to cheer them on and saying things like "Allez! Allez!" to all of them, and was just being friendly. There were just so many though that I realized it was completely screwing up my rhythm to keep stopping ever quarter mile to let another group by. Being new to the sport still, I keep craving that rhythm too, so I was getting a little frustrated by the end of it. It's not like I said anything to them to let them know since it is a multi-use trail, and they have every right to be there too, but I was just getting bummed I guess. I'm sure it showed a little when I broke the rules and just went off trail to run by since none of the last group showed any signs of doing the ol' Fruita lean or anything to let me by.